Italian Report States Damir Skomina Should’ve Awarded Inter Clear Penalty Against Barcelona

Italian Report States Damir Skomina Should’ve Awarded Inter Clear Penalty Against Barcelona
October 3, 2019 12:15
( )

Inter manager Antonio Conte was right to hit out at referee Damir Skomina after Inter fell to a 2-1 defeat away to Barcelona in the Champions League group stages last night. at least according to a report from Gazzetta dello Sport.

Skomina was not afraid to dish out the cards at Camp Nou last night and dished his first out just six minutes in as he punished Inter’s Nicolo Barella for a foul.

As the half progressed, the Slovenian referee appeared to be letting a lot more go, particularly when it came to Barcelona appearing to foul Inter players with many of these fouls yellow card-worthy, in the eyes of the Milan based news outlet.

Skomina’s most glaring mistake was his failure to award Inter a penalty after Arthur took Stefano Sensi out just before the hour mark in the game. It was a clear penalty and Gazzetta cannot understand why the situation was not reviewed by VAR as there was certain contact.

By Cammy Anderson
Close

Subscribe

to our newsletter