Inter were fortunate to have had another chance to score from the spot with a retaken penalty which should not have been awarded, according to Italian media.
The unfolding incident leading to the penalty was analyzed in today’s print edition of Rome-based newspaper Corriere dello Sport, who argue that there was no reason for the second spot kick have been given.
The Corriere has not doubts that the decision by VAR to give a penalty for Alvaro Morata’s challenge on Denzel Dumfries was a correct one.
However, regarding the initial saved penalty by Calhanoglu, the newspaper argue that the Turk fouls Juventus midfielder Danilo while following up, and that on-pitch referee Massimiliano Irrati was right to whistle for a foul.
Irrati’s initial decision was overturned after the VAR reviewed the incident and found that Bianconeri defender Matthijs de Ligt had encroached into the penalty area prematurely while Calhanoglu was taking his initial spot kick.
However, the Corriere argue that by the time that the Dutchman arrived at the scene, Calhanoglu had already fouled Danilo to force the ball into the net and so the encroachment was not sufficient grounds to award a retake.
Meanwhile, the newspaper also suggest that there is significant doubt as to whether Irrati was correct in giving Juventus just a free kick for Alessandro Bastoni’s foul on Denis Zakaria, which very well may have been inside the area.