Inter Milan coach Simone Inzaghi has decided to start Stefan de Vrij in defense, Henrikh Mkhitaryan in midfield, Denzel Dumfries on the right, and Marcus Thuram up front in today’s Serie A opener against Monza, with kickoff scheuled for 20.45 CET.

Inzaghi selects his first starting eleven of the 2023-24 season in this evening’s clash with Monza at the San Siro.

There are plenty of new signings at the coach’s disposal. However, only two start – Thuram and goalkeeper Yann Sommer.

Meanwhile, big name arrivals like Davide Frattesi and Juan Cuadrado have to settle for a place on the bench.

Firstly, with three new goalkeepers having arrived this summer, Inzaghi selects a brand new goalkeeper to make his competitive debut for Inter.

The coach has given the nod to ex-Bayern Munich and Borussia Monchengladbach man Yann Sommer over Emil Audero and Raffaele Di Gennaro.

Secondly, Denzel Dumfries and Federico Dimarco play on the wings.

Thirdly, in defence it’s Matteo Darmian and Alessandro Bastoni starting on either side of Dutch international defender Stefan de Vrij.

Francesco Acerbi is not even fit enough to make the bench.

Lautaro Martinez & Marcus Thuram Lead The Line

Fourthly, in midfield, Turkish internationbal Hakan Calhanoglu starts in the middle of the park. He’s flanked by Italian midfielder Nicolo Barella and Armenian former Arsenal and Roma veteran Henrikh Mkhitaryan.

Furthermore, up front, Argentina international forward Lautaro Martinez starts. Playing alongside the Argentine is French international Thuram, making his competitive debut for Inter.

New signings like Frattesi, Cuadrado, Carlos Augusto, Yann Bisseck, and Marko Arnautovic could all make their debuts this evening.

However, they will have to come off the bench to do so.

Apart from Sommer and Thuram, Inzaghi has turned to players who were already around last season.

Official Starting Lineups Inter Milan Vs Monza

Inter (3-5-2): Yann Sommer, Matteo Darmian, Stefan de Vrij, Alessandro Bastoni, Denzel Dumfries, Nicolo Barella, Hakan Calhanoglu, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Federico Dimarco, Lautaro Martinez, Marcus Thuram.
Substitutes: Emil Audero, Raffaele Di Gennaro, Yann Bisseck, Giacomo Stabile, Aleksandar Stankovic, Kristjan Asllani, Juan Cuadrado, Stefano Sensi, Davide Frattesi, Carlos Augusto, Joaquin Correa, Marko Arnautovic.
Coach: Simone Inzaghi.
Suspended: No one.
Injured and unavailable: Francesco Acerbi.

Monza(3-4-2-1): Di Gregorio, D’Ambrosio, Pablo Marì, Caldirola, Ciurria, Gagliardini, Pessina, Kyriakopoulos, Colpani, Caprari, Maric.
Substitutes: Sorrentino, Gori, Machin, Mota Carvalho, F. Carboni, Birindelli, V. Carboni, Pedro Pereira, Petagna, Bondo, A. Carboni, Cittadini, Vignato.
Coach: Palladino.
Substitutes: Izzo.
Injured and unavailable: Bettella.

Referee: Andrea Colombo.
Assistant referees: Giovanni Baccini and Pasquale Capaldo.
Fourth official: Maurizio Mariani.
VAR: Luigi Nasca and Daniele Paterna.