All the major refereeing decisions were correct in yesterday’s Champions League match between Inter Milan and Red Bull Salzburg.

This is the view in today’s print edition of Milan-based newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport, via FCInterNews.

French match official Francois Letexier did not have the toughest of matches on his hands yesterday.

There were some scrappy fouls here and there, but things never got out of hand. The Gazzetta argue that the referee did well to keep the tempo of the match up whilst still punishing infringements.

And in terms of the major decisions, there were four.

And in the view of the Gazzetta, Letexier got all of them totally correct.

Major Decisions Right In Inter Red Bull Salzburg Champions League Clash

First there was the question of Inter’s opening goal.

There may have been one or two questions about whether Nerazzurri forward Alexis Sanchez was in an offside position when he latched on to midfielder Davide Frattesi’s flick-on in order to slot away the first goal of the match.

But that was not what Letexier and his assistance deemed to be the case.

And the Gazzetta praise the officiating team for the speed with which they confirmed the goal.

Then there was penalty for Inter in the second half.

Letexier pointed to the spot after Salzburg midfielder Lucas Gourna-Douath (who is reportedly a target for Inter) brought down Frattesi in the penalty area with a clumsy challenge.

The Frenchman’s tackle was indeed a foul in the view of the Gazzetta.

He clattered into the Inter player without winning the ball.

However, Letexier did not book Gourna-Douath. And this was certainly a relief for the player, who was already on a yellow card from the first half.

And the Gazzetta argue that this too was the correct decision.

The Salzburg midfielder had undeniably made a genuine attempt to play the ball, rather than just cynically hacking down the Inter player. Therefore, no yellow card.

And lastly, the newspaper note, Letexier and his assistants were quite right to rule out a third Inter goal.

Frattesi looked offside in the buildup, as he collected a pass from Marcus Thuram. And once again, the officials completed the check quickly and ruled the goal out without too much fuss.