Italian media have branded the foul on Inter Milan striker Marcus Thuram in the second half against Frosinone a “clear penalty.”

Today’s print edition of Milan-based newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport, via FCInterNews, suggest that the decision to award a spot kick was “as clear as you’ll see.”

Young referee Federico Dionisi did not exactly have his hands full in yesterday’s match at the San Siro.

It was not an ill-tempered match in the manner of, for example, the derby clash between Lazio and Roma in the kickoff preceding it.

And according to the Gazzetta, Dionisi gave a decent account of himself. The young referee did mostly keep up with the pace of play, and kept the players under wraps.

Dionisi did have a couple major penalty decisions to make. Both took place in the Frosinone area.

And in the view of the Gazzetta, the official got at least one of them right.

And it would have been hard not to.

Foul On Inter Striker Thuram Vs Frosinone “Clear Penalty”

In the 48th minute, Inter striker Thuram was running through on goal.

Young Frosinone defender Caleb Okoli had slipped in midfield whilst duelling for the ball with the Frenchman.

This allowed the Nerazzurri striker to take on Frosinone defenders in the penalty area.

And Thuram’s dribbling skills proved to be the undoing of Giallazzurri defender Ilario Monterisi.

The 21-year-old made a last-ditch effort to take the ball off of Thuram in front of goal.

But Monterisi’s challenge amounted to little more than a desperate hack at the striker’s legs.

Dionisi pointed to the spot. And in the view of the Gazzetta, there was not much to even talk about.

It was “as clear a penalty as you’ll see” and the official did well not to dwell on it or hold up play with a lengthy VAR review.

Meanwhile, the Gazzetta suggests, Dionisi could have also awarded Inter another penalty.

There had also been a sloppy challenge by defender Pol Lirola that brought down Henrikh Mkhitaryan.

In the view of the Gazzetta, it was worth a second look. Dionisi didn’t see enough to point to the spot in real time, but replays seemed to show sufficient contact for a penalty, the newspaper argues.