Italian media have argued that Real Sociedad should’ve had a penalty against Inter Milan.

Today’s print edition of Milan-based newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport, via FCInterNews, argue that Juan Cuadrado fouled Mikel Oyarzabal in the penalty area, and also that Take Kubo was correctly booked for a dive.

There was one potential penalty incident in particular that match official Sandro Scharer had to deal with yesterday.

This came relatively late on in the second half.

La Real had a corner kick. Set pieces were something that the Spanish side had been looking dangerous with all evening, with inventive routines, accurate deliveries, and sharp movement inside the box.

On one particular occasion, La Real captain Oyarzabal was trying to get himself free in the middle of the penalty area.

The player who ended up marking him was Colombian international Cuadrado.

The former Juventus wingback was making his first ever start for Inter since joining in the summer.

And Cuadrado put his arms around Oyarzabal. There was no doubt that it was a clumsy challenge.

Italian Media Argue Real Sociedad Should’ve Had A Penalty Vs Inter

Cuadrado’s challenge meant that Oyarzabal was not able to move freely to try and get contact on the ball.

The Spaniard went down under the challenge. And he appealed to referee Scharer for a penalty.

But the on-pitch official saw nothing wrong with Cuadrado’s challenge.

The VAR, subsequently, concurred with Scharer – the match quickly restarted after a very brief check.

But in the view of the Gazzetta, that was the wrong decision.

Cuadrado was holding Oyarzabal, and in the view of the newspaper, there was more than enough in it to give a penalty.

Meanwhile, the Gazzetta also assess the yellow card that former Real Madrid winger Kubo got for diving.

The 22-year-old Japanese international had made a mazy run into the Inter penalty area.

Kubo had already beaten a couple Inter players. Then midfielder Hakan Calhanoglu tried to stop the La Real player.

Kubo went down under Calhanoglu’s challenge.

And initially, Scharer pointed to the penalty spot. But replays suggested that there was little if any contact on Kubo from Calhanoglu, and the 22-year-old had hit the deck far too easily.

That is essentially what the VAR advised Scharer. The Swiss referee went over to the monitor and quickly determined that his initial decision was wrong, and Kubo had dived.

Therefore, Scharer reversed the penalty decision. And Kubo got a yellow card for his troubles.

In the view of the Gazzetta, this was 100% the correct decision.