Referee Marco Piccinini has been praised for getting both major decisions right in Inter Milan’s Serie A win over Udinese yesterday.

Today’s print edition of Milan-based newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport, via FCInterNews, argue that the official was correct to both disallow an Inter goal, and then award the Nerazzurri a penalty not long after.

Yesterday’s match was not a terribly ill-tempered one.

There were three yellow cards in total from referee Piccinini.

Two of these went to Inter players late in the match. Both Nerazzurri captain Lautaro Martinez and defender Benjamin Pavard went into the book as they showed their frustration.

As a result both of the Inter duo will miss next weekend’s Serie A match against Cagliari through suspension. However, they will be available for the derby against AC Milan.

Piccinini did have work to do in the second half, however.

There were two important decisions for the referee to make. And both came in a short space of time.

Piccinini Correct With Both Major Decisions In Inter Serie A Win Vs Udinese

There were two penalty area incidents at the start of the second half at the Bluenergy Stadium.

Inter began the second half with a strong attacking intent as they pushed to cancel out Lazar Samardzic’s goal that had had given Udinese the lead against the run of play towards the end of the first.

Right at the beginning of the half, Inter won a free kick close to the Udinese area.

Brazilian international Carlos Augusto thought he’d scored his first goal in Serie A for Inter.

However, Piccinini determined that the Brazilian had been offside when Lautaro Martinez had flicked it on.

The ball did get a touch on an Udinese player on the way through. This changed the direction of the ball’s path.

However, the deflection off of defender Thomas Kristensen was entirely accidental and not a deliberate clearance of the ball.

So in the view of the Gazzetta, Piccinini and his VAR were correct to determine that Augusto was still in an offside position.

Then, minutes later, Piccinini pointed to the penalty spot.

This came after Udinese keeper Caleb Okoye had cleared out Inter striker Marcus Thuram with a late challenge.

Considering Okoye did not get a touch on the ball but did make strong contact with the Nerazzurri striker, the decision was a clear-cut one, argues the Gazzetta.

Piccinini once again got it right.