Former Referee Bergonzi: “Asamoah Penalty Incident Didn’t Need VAR Intervention”

Former Referee Bergonzi: “Asamoah Penalty Incident Didn’t Need VAR Intervention”
August 21, 2018 02:30
( )

Former referee Mauro Bergonzi briefly discussed the reasoning behind why VAR was not called upon by referee Maurizio Mariani during Sassuolo vs Inter on Sunday night.

Inter’s Kwadwo Asamoah collided with Sassuolo midfielder Francesco Magnanelli in the penalty box but Mariani ignored claims from the Nerazzurri to award them with a penalty which left many wondering why VAR was not used in this instance.

“It did not require VAR intervention as it was not a clear mistake, the protocol is clear on that so the referee decided not to grant the penalty,” Bergonzi said in an interview with RMC Sport.

The Protocol behind the usage of VAR changed ahead of the 2018/19 season kicking off and gives referees a lot more authority. Referees are now being asked to trust their initial perception of incidents more than before where the assistant referees would notify the referee when something needed checked over with VAR.

By Cammy Anderson
Close

Subscribe

to our newsletter