Referee Paolo Valeri made the right call with one of Napoli’s penalty calls against Inter last night but doubts remain over whether he made the right decision with the second penalty call they made according to a report in today’s print edition of Italian daily newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport.

In the 54th minute, Napoli forward Lorenzo Insigne blasted a shot off of Inter wing-back Antonio Candreva from close range and whilst it hit the Italian defender’s arm, Valeri opted against awarding the visitors a penalty and the VAR officials also shared Valeri’s opinion that it was not a penalty and did not order Valeri to review the action.

Moments later Napoli made further calls for a penalty when Inter midfielder Nicolo Barella went into the back of Nikola Maksimovic.

Barella jumped into the back of the defender in Inter’s box and VAR chose not to intervene, even if the replays showed that he did so in the box.