VAR Saved Referee Paolo Valeri Three Times During Inter’s Loss At Sampdoria, Italian Media Claim

VAR Saved Referee Paolo Valeri Three Times During Inter’s Loss At Sampdoria, Italian Media Claim
January 7, 2021 16:30
( )

VAR operator Daniele Chiffi saved referee Paolo Valeri on no less than three occasions in yesterday’s Serie A clash between Sampdoria and Inter, an Italian media report has highlighted today.

Sampdoria ran out 2-1 winners on a wet day at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris in which three penalties were awarded. Two were awarded by VAR while Valeri awarded a third before VAR took it away.

Morten Thorsby handled the ball to give Inter an early penalty but unlike with the other cases, his feint touch was not picked up upon by fortunately Chiffi noticed and upon reviewing the footage.

Valeri handed Inter a penalty, which Alexis Sanchez would see saved by Emil Audero.

The second penalty of the match came soon after as Nicolo Barella handled the ball clearly and Antonio Candreva came back to haunt his former employers, sending Samir Handanovic the wrong way to put the hosts ahead.

Valeri had also awarded a penalty to Sampdoria after Lautaro Martinez handled the ball, though replays showed the Argentine was quite clearly not inside the box.

Chiffi came to the rescue again and Valeri correctly reversed his decision, awarding a free-kick on the edge of the box which came to nothing.

By Cammy Anderson