Inter were probably right to be awarded their second goal during last night’s 2-1 win over Sassuolo, a report in the Italian media suggested today.
Lautaro Martinez doubled the Nerazzurri’s lead midway through the second half at San Siro, in a move which began after Stefan de Vrij tugged Giacomo Raspadori’s shirt at the other end.
As per Corriere dello Sport’s print edition, De Vrij’s shirt pull didn’t seem like enough to award a penalty when seen live, although the replays created ‘lots of doubt’.
The report argued that VAR’s officials had to analyse the dynamic of incidents at full speed though, suggesting it was the right decision to let play continue.
Elsewhere, referee Massimiliano Irrati was said to have made the right decision to not give Inter a penalty in the first half when Nicolo Barella’s cross caught Sassuolo defender Rogerio on the arm.
The Brazilian first touched the ball with his thigh before it ricocheted onto the arm, meaning it was the right call in the view of the Rome-based paper.
Romelu Lukaku’s goal at the end of the match was also correctly ruled out for offside.