Inter Could Have Had Penalty Against Roma After Andrea Pinamonti Fouled, Italian Media Argue

Inter Could Have Had Penalty Against Roma After Andrea Pinamonti Fouled, Italian Media Argue
May 13, 2021 14:40
( )

Inter were a little unlucky not to get a penalty during last night’s 3-1 win over Roma, according to a report in the Italian media today.

The Nerazzurri picked up a 15th straight home win in Serie A courtesy of goals from Marcelo Brozovic, Matias Vecino and Romelu Lukaku, with Henrikh Mkhitaryan scoring for the visitors.

As per Gazzetta dello Sport’s print edition, the most controversial incident of the match came after 81 minutes when Andrea Pinamonti was caught by Ebrima Darboe in the Roma box.

Referee Daniele Chiffi opted not to give a penalty, but this report argued ‘it wouldn’t have been a mistake’ if he had pointed to the spot.

Inter’s former defender Davide Santon was involved in another debatable incident during the first half, when he tugged back Alexis Sanchez as the forward went through on goal.

Santon was only booked for his foul and the Milan-based paper said that was the right decision from Chiffi, because Sanchez was moving away from goal (even if not it wasn’t very clear) when the infraction happened.

Chiffi refereed a ‘simple’ match fairly well, although Brozovic would have deserved a yellow card of his own for a foul on Stephan El Shaarawy.

By Will Beckman
Close

Subscribe

to our newsletter