Referee Fabio Maresca “Only Committed One Error”, Italian Media Argue

Referee Fabio Maresca “Only Committed One Error”, Italian Media Argue
September 26, 2021 14:40
( )

Referee Fabio Maresca has been praised for his handling of a difficult match, and for having made only one incorrect decision during Inter’s 2-2 draw against Atalanta at the San Siro yesterday evening.

This according to today’s print edition of Milan-based newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport, who single out the awarding of a free kick for a handball by Milan Skriniar as the only instance where the official got it wrong.

Atalanta nearly scored from a free kick given when Skriniar was adjudged to have handled the ball, but the Slovenian’s arms were by his side and he made no movement towards the ball so the set piece should never have been awarded in the view of the Gazzetta.

Meanwhile, the Nerazzurri were given a corner midway through the second half despite the ball having last come off an Inter player, but in this instance Maresca quickly corrected himself after taking advice from his assistant.

The Gazzetta suggest that other than the first yellow card early on in the match being harsh, every booking was deserved and correct, while the head official is deemed to have gotten both VAR decisions late in the match correct.

By Toni Weeler