Referee Daniele Chiffi had been wrong to award Inter a penalty in the second half of yesterday’s Serie A clash with Fiorentina, but his decision was corrected by VAR, according to Italian media.
This from today’s print edition of Rome-based newspaper Corriere dello Sport, who suggest that the official had the wrong view of the incident but was bailed out by the video assistant.
Inter striker Lautaro Martinez went for the ball along with Fiorentina defender Lorenzo Venuti, and the Nerazzurri man went down under the contact between the two players’ feet.
Chiffi was quick to point to the spot following the incident, which he saw as having been a foul by the Viola defender on Martinez.
However, it was not long before the official got word from the video assistant advising him to have a second look at the incident.
After looking at a replay of the challenge on the pitchside monitor, Chiffi concurred with the VAR official Paolo Valeri that it had actually been Martinez who kicked into the foot of Venuti, and in the view of the Corriere he was correct to wave away the penalty on review.