Cagliari should have been awarded a penalty late on in their 3-1 Serie A loss to Inter yesterday evening, according to Italian media.
Today’s print edition of Rome-based newspaper Corriere dello Sport reviewed the officiating incidents in the match, and suggested that there was a handball by Inter wingback Denzel Dumfries that was worth awarding a spot kick for.
The Rossoblu never gave up even in the late stages of yesterday evening’s match, and continued to push for a goal that would give them hope of at least taking a point from an encounter in which they were 3-1 down.
In one instance, Cagliari captain Luca Ceppitelli put a ball in which deflected off the knee of Nerazzurri defender Danilo D’Ambrosio and found the outstretched arm of Dumfries.
In the view of the Corriere, the Dutchman had enough time to react and there was a controlled movement of his arm, so referee Daniele Doveri should have pointed to the spot.