Bayern Munich striker Sadio Mane feels that he made no deliberate handball on the incident where Inter were not given a penalty in yesterday evening’s Champions League match.

Speaking to the media after the match, as reported by FCInterNews, the Senegalese stressed that he was just protecting his face, whilst his coach Julian Nagelsmann felt that there was a case for a penalty to be awarded.

Inter players wanted a penalty early on in yesterday evening’s match, as Mane raised his hands to block a Nicolo Barella shot from outside the box which was headed towards the Bayern player’s head.

There was a VAR check on the incident, before the official eventually decided that it was in instinctive moment by Mane to protect his face rather than a deliberate handball, so no penalty.

After the match, the 30-year-old looked back on the incident, saying that “If I hadn’t raised by hands to cover my faced, I’d have wound up in the hospital.”

Meanwhile, Bayern coach Nagelsmann was also asked about the incident, and said that “I think it could be given as a penalty.””

“The referee knows what the rules are, he looked at the incident for two and a half minutes and then made his decision, that’s it,” the German coach added.