A report in Italian analyzes the performance of referee Luca Massimi who didn’t award Inter Milan a penalty against Sassuolo.

The Nerazzurri sustained the first defeat of the season. This came after a splendid run of five wins in a row.

While Denzel Dumfries’ opener suggested that the Beneamata would make it six on the trot, the Neroverdi pulled off a stunning comeback to win 2-1.

However, some had argued that Simone Inzaghi’s men should have had the chance to equalize from the spot in the 80th minute. Martin Erlic blocked a shot from Inter captain Lautaro Martinez with his arm.

But according to La Gazzetta dello Sport via FcInterNews, the referee made the right call.

As the source explains, the handball was preceded by another incident, when Alexis Sanchez fouled Matheus Henrique. VAR also confirmed the match official’s decision.

A Report Explains Why Inter Milan Didn’t Receive A Spot Kick In The 80th Minute Vs Sassuolo

However, FcInterNews disagrees with the assessment of the pink newspaper, claiming that the Chilean striker never pushed the Sassuolo midfielder. Instead, it was only a light touch.

As for the other incidents in the match, GdS notes that Domenico Berardi never received a booking despite clearing the ball after the whistle on three occasions.

Moreover, the source argues that the referee unjustly called a foul on Hakan Calhanoglu on the edge of the box, even though his challenge was on the ball.

On the other hand, Massimi didn’t award Marcus Thuram a foul from 25 meters although the latter was obviously tripped.