Serie A referee-designator Gianluca Rocchi feels that the recent handball decision in a match between Inter Milan and Lecce wasn’t a penalty.

The referee-designator weighed in on the incident on DAZN program Open Var, via FCInterNews.

Inter were 1-0 up at the start of the second half of Saturday evening’s match against Lecce.

It was an advantage but not the most comfortable one. Lecce still were actively searching for a route back into the match.

One way that that could have come against the run of play would have been via a penalty kick.

And it looked like the Giallorossi were going to get the opportunity.

Lecce right-back Valentin Gendrey played a cross into the box.

It was Inter wingback Carlos Augusto who blocked Gendrey’s effort. But in the view of referee Marcenaro, the Brazilian did so illegally, with the use of his arms.

However, the Inter players looked bewildered by this decision. And Nerazzurri coach Simone Inzaghi appeared absolutely furious.

Rocchi: Handball Incident In Inter Vs Lecce Clash “Absolutely Not A Penalty”

Replays suggested that the angery from the Inter players in response to the decision was not without reason.

Augusto had his back turned to Gendrey’s cross somewhat, and it looked to be off the former Monza wingback’s back rather than arm that the ball came off.

There was certainly no grounds to say that the Inter player had deliberately handled the ball.

And that is what the VAR told Marcenaro. The referee headed over to his monitor, and only needed a brief check to rule that there was no penalty.

And in the view of referee-designator Rocchi, this was a good example of why VAR can be a positive thing. It made sure that a non-existent penalty did not stand.

The experienced official said that “This was absolutely not a penalty.”