Former referee Graziano Cesari believes that it was the correct decision to allow Inter Milan’s opener in their Serie A win over Roma.

Speaking to Italian broadcaster SportMediaset, via FCInter1908, Cesari gave the view that there was no interference on Roma goalkeeper Rui Patricio in the action leading to the goal.

Inter defender Francesco Acerbi scored Inter’s goalkeeper in their match away to Roma over the weekend.

The 35-year-old placed a looping header over Giallorossi keeper Patricio.

But Acerbi and his teammates had to wait a bit before they could conclusively celebrate the goal.

That is because it was immediately apparent that there was a VAR check ongoing on the goal.

The reason for this was an incident involving Inter striker Marcus Thuram and Patricio.

The Roma keeper protested that part of the reason that he was unable to make the save on Acerbi’s looping header was that the Frenchman had been in effect blocking him off.

There were two potential problems in this regard.

Firstly, Thuram was standing in an offisde position when Acerbi made the header. Therefore, if he were to be deemed to be involved in play, then the goal would have to be disallowed.

And second of all, Patricio felt that he was in effect blocked off from getting to the ball.

That was in fact the evident suggestion of the VAR. Referee Marco Guida received the advice to go over to his monitor and look at the incident a second time.

And that is just what the referee did.

However, Guida stuck by his original decision. The goal stood.

And in the view of former Serie A referee Cesari, that was the correct decision.

Cesari: Correct Decision To Allow Inter Opener Vs Roma

Cesari said of the incident that “It has to be up to the referee to decide.”

“The review lasts about 52 seconds, and Guida is busy telling the Roma players that they were reviewing it.”

The former referee argued that “This does not respect the proper procedure for VAR.”

He continued that “Thuram does not attempt to play the ball. Even if he is offside.”

As far as whether or not Thuram had interfered with Patricio, Cesari said “Never. The ball is going to the keeper’s left, so he doesn’t interfere with his ability to make a save.”