The second equalizer that Cagliari scored against Inter Milan yesterday was “doubtful” due to a handball by Gianluca Lapadula.

This is the view in today’s print edition of Milan-based newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport, via FCInterNews.

Cagliari fought back from a goal down twice against Inter yesterday evening.

The first of the Sardinians’ two goals came via Roma-owned striker Eldor Shomurodov. Then, the second was scored by midfielder Nicolas Viola.

And in the view of the Gazzetta, big questions remain about the second goal.

The problem is not with the strike from Viola himself. The 34-year-old had been in an onside position and finished well.

However, the Gazzetta argue, it was strange that referee Francesco Fourneau did not disallow the goal for an action just before Viola finished.

Cagliari Equalizer Vs Inter “Doubtful” Due To Lapadula Handball

Viola was played in by former AC Milan and Genoa striker Gianluca Lapadula. The two substitutes combined to get Cagliari their second equalizer.

Lapadula had won the ball in a duel with Inter defender Francesco Acerbi.

And while the 34-year-old had certainly done well to use his strength and anticipation to get to the ball ahead of Acerbi and then turn away from the Inter defender, there was one major problem.

The replay showed that the ball had rather blatantly come off of Lapadula’s arm.

And this is what several Inter players immediately appealed for.

There was a VAR check, as is always the case with goals. But eventually Fourneau and his VAR decided to allow the goal.

Evidently the decision was that, whether or not there was contact by the Cagliari striker’s arm on the ball, it was accidental.

This highlights a certain problem in attacking handball situations since the rule change that not all such handballs are grounds to disallow goal.

But for the Gazzetta, the situation remained very “doubtful.”

Lapadula did control the ball using his arm, whether intentionally or not, and so the goal probably shouldn’t have stood, the newspaper argues.